WEAHTER

Weather Alert for Pecos County

Posted

Hazardous Weather Outlook

National Weather Service Midland/Odessa TX

130 PM CDT Tue Mar 12 2019

This Hazardous Weather Outlook is for portions of southeast New

Mexico, southwest Texas, and western Texas.

.DAY ONE...This Afternoon and Tonight

Strong to severe thunderstorms are expected across the region this

evening and until after midnight. The strongest storms will be

capable of producing large hail, damaging winds, as well as a tornado

threat. Brief heavy rainfall and localized flooding will also be

possible.

Very windy conditions are expected beginning tonight for much of

West Texas and Southeast New Mexico. A High Wind Warning is in

effect for the Guadalupe and Delaware Mountains, Eddy County New

Mexico Plains. A Wind Advisory is in effect tonight for a significant

portion of the Permian Basin, Trans Pecos, and Davis Mountains.

.DAYS TWO THROUGH SEVEN...Wednesday through Monday

Strong, damaging winds are expected Wednesday and Wednesday night

across southeast New Mexico and much of west Texas. A High Wind

Warning is in effect Wednesday through Wednesday evening for

southeast New Mexico and all of west Texas, except the Presidio

Valley.

...HIGH WIND WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 7 PM THIS EVENING TO 6 AM MDT

THURSDAY FOR THE GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS...

...HIGH WIND WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 8 PM CDT /7 PM MDT/ THIS

EVENING TO 10 PM CDT /9 PM MDT/ WEDNESDAY FOR THE EDDY COUNTY

PLAINS AND VAN HORN AND THE HIGHWAY 54 CORRIDOR...

...WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 8 PM CDT /7 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING

TO 10 AM CDT /9 AM MDT/ WEDNESDAY FOR LEA, GAINES, AND ANDREWS

COUNTIES, REEVES COUNTY AND THE UPPER TRANS PECOS, THE PERMIAN

BASIN, THE DAVIS AND APACHE MOUNTAINS, AND THE STOCKTON PLATEAU...

...HIGH WIND WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM CDT /9 AM MDT/ TO 10 PM

CDT /9 PM MDT/ WEDNESDAY FOR MOST OF SOUTHEAST NEW MEXICO AND

WEST TEXAS...

.A powerful storm system is approaching the region today and will

move through the area Wednesday. This will result in strong,

damaging winds over the area beginning tonight in the Guadalupe

Mountains Van Horn Area, and Eddy County Plains, and spreading

east and south Wednesday. This could be one of the strongest wind

events in years for West Texas and Southeast New Mexico.

Comments