San Ignacio De Loyola to celebrate 100 years


The San Ignacio De Loyola will be celebrating 100 years since the first mass was held in Little Mexico, a forgotten corner of Fort Stockton.

There is no physical address for the church, just cross street, but the history in the community runs deep.

Historians are hoping there are still people around with memories, photos or stories about the Little Mexico area that can help piece together history.

“It really highlights establishment of a forgotten community,” said Pecos County Historical Commission Member Andres Madrid.

The old church has long been out of service, over 20 years, when Madrid moved to the area and took interest in it.

The first mass took place on April 27, 1919 and many of the founding families still have relatives in the area.

In the 2000s the building was renovated under the leadership of commissioner Paul Valenzuela.

During the celebration, between 1 p.m. and 3p.m. there will be a historical recordings and tour

with historians coming from Texas Tech.

The event will be bilingual with the first event being a procession led by Guadalupanas.

“People are really looking forward to going back and capturing some of that history,” said Madrid.

There will be food vendors, and a fiesta celebration with games at 6 p.m.

“The centennial celebration of San Ignacio is to mark the preservation and restoration of a building to tell the full story of the community of Little Mexico,” said Madrid.

Anyone with information, memories, photos or anything that could help are asked to either call Madrid or come to the festival to talk with historians.

The founding families are as follows:

Severo Onsures, Liborio Rascon, Aniseto Moreno, Margarito Primera, Juan Salazar, Deciderio Duarte, Fermin Diaz, Eduardo Gonzalez, Nicolas Gomez, Candelario Gonzalez, Manuel Espino, Tiburcio Calderon, Jose Salcido, Braulio Gomez, Eusebio Hernandez, Gregorio Nunez, Everado Ruiz, Fransisco Pacheco, Miguel Munoz, Victoriano Martinez, Fransisco Blanco, Jose Martinez, Jesus Nanes, Dario Martinez, Pedro Romero, Andres Subia, Efren Duarte and Nicolas Gomez.